Robert Rankin books in order – Update List 02/2024

Robert Rankin is a British author known for his humorous and fantastical novels. He has written over 30 books, often blending elements of science fiction, fantasy, and comedy to create his unique and imaginative stories.

Robert Rankin Books in Order

  1. The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse
  2. The Antipope
  3. The Brentford Triangle
  4. Armageddon: The Musical
  5. East of Ealing
  6. The Sprouts of Wrath
  7. The Witches of Chiswick
  8. The Book of Ultimate Truths
  9. The Toyminator
  10. The Brentford Chainstore Massacre

Synopsis of Robert Rankin Books in Order

The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse

“The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse” by Robert Rankin is a darkly humorous and surreal novel set in the fictional town of Toy City. The story follows Jack, a young boy who arrives in Toy City to seek his fortune. However, he soon becomes embroiled in a bizarre and dangerous mystery when he stumbles across the body of Humpty Dumpty. With the help of a hard-boiled detective named Eddie Bear, Jack sets out to unravel the mystery and uncover the sinister forces at work in Toy City.

As Jack and Eddie delve deeper into the mystery, they encounter a bizarre cast of characters, including corrupt politicians, deranged toy makers, and a serial killer who leaves hollow chocolate bunnies in his wake. The novel is filled with twisted fairy tale references and dark humor, creating a unique and memorable reading experience. Rankin’s writing is fast-paced and filled with clever wordplay, making “The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse” an entertaining and unpredictable read.

Overall, “The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse” is a darkly comic and inventive novel that blends elements of fantasy, noir, and satire. With its quirky characters and surreal setting, the book offers a fresh and imaginative take on traditional fairy tales and crime fiction. Robert Rankin’s distinctive writing style and offbeat humor make this novel a must-read for fans of dark comedy and unconventional storytelling.

The content is being updated …

The Antipope

“The Antipope” by Robert Rankin is a comic fantasy novel that follows the adventures of Jim Pooley and John Omally as they stumble upon a conspiracy involving an antipope. Set in 1966, the story is filled with eccentric characters and absurd situations, including time travel and alternate dimensions. As the duo delves deeper into the mystery, they uncover a plot to undermine the Catholic Church and cause chaos in the world. With the help of a talking fish and a time-traveling monk, Jim and John must navigate through the bizarre world they have been thrust into in order to set things right.

The novel is filled with Rankin’s trademark wit and satire, as he lampoons various aspects of religion, politics, and society. The alternate history setting allows for imaginative and fantastical elements to be woven into the story, creating a unique and surreal experience for the reader. The plot is fast-paced and full of twists and turns, keeping the reader engaged and entertained throughout. Rankin’s writing style is humorous and irreverent, making “The Antipope” a delightfully quirky and offbeat read.

Overall, “The Antipope” is a clever and entertaining blend of fantasy, humor, and satire that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams. With its off-the-wall premise and colorful cast of characters, the novel offers a fresh and original take on the comic fantasy genre. Robert Rankin’s storytelling prowess shines through, making “The Antipope” a must-read for anyone looking for a dose of unconventional and imaginative fiction.

The Brentford Triangle

“The Brentford Triangle” by Robert Rankin is a comedic fantasy novel set in the fictional London suburb of Brentford. The story follows the adventures of a group of eccentric characters, including a former rock star turned publican, a would-be philosopher, and a bumbling detective. They become embroiled in a series of bizarre and supernatural events that are centered around the mysterious Brentford Triangle, a local landmark that seems to defy the laws of physics and reality.

As the characters investigate the strange happenings in Brentford, they encounter a variety of oddball characters and surreal situations, including a talking dog, a reclusive scientist with a penchant for homemade explosives, and a group of aliens with a taste for English ale. Throughout the novel, Rankin combines elements of science fiction, fantasy, and British comedy to create a zany and unpredictable narrative that satirizes both traditional fantasy tropes and contemporary urban life.

With its offbeat humor and wacky plot twists, “The Brentford Triangle” offers a lighthearted and entertaining read for fans of absurdist fiction and unconventional humor. Rankin’s distinctive writing style and quirky characters make for a truly unique reading experience that is sure to appeal to readers who enjoy a healthy dose of whimsy in their literature.

The content is being updated …

Armageddon: The Musical

The content is being updated …

East of Ealing

“The content is being updated …”

The Sprouts of Wrath

“The content is being updated …”

The Witches of Chiswick

“The Witches of Chiswick” by Robert Rankin is a quirky and fantastical novel that follows the story of a group of witches residing in the district of Chiswick in London. The witches, led by Lady Bess, have been secretly manipulating the course of history for centuries through their magical abilities. When a young man named Percy Buckley discovers their existence and their nefarious plans, he is unwittingly drawn into a battle to stop their destructive intentions.

See also  Alyson Noel books in order - Update List 02/2024

As the story unfolds, readers are taken on a wild and imaginative ride through time and space, encountering a multitude of eccentric and outlandish characters along the way. From talking cats to time-traveling trains, the novel is filled with humor, unexpected twists, and a healthy dose of the supernatural. Combining elements of fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction, “The Witches of Chiswick” is a unique and entertaining read that will delight fans of unconventional storytelling.

With its blend of magic, humor, and adventure, “The Witches of Chiswick” is a delightful and thought-provoking exploration of the nature of power, destiny, and the consequences of meddling with the fabric of time. Rankin’s distinctive writing style and imaginative storytelling make this novel a must-read for anyone seeking a fresh and unconventional literary experience.

The Book of Ultimate Truths

“The Book of Ultimate Truths” by Robert Rankin is a comedic novel that follows the adventures of Cornelius Murphy as he becomes entangled with a secret society and embarks on a quest to uncover the ultimate truth. Along the way, he encounters a variety of eccentric characters, including a talking dog, a time-traveling monk, and an alien. As Cornelius delves deeper into the mysteries surrounding the book, he learns about the existence of parallel universes and the true nature of reality.

The novel is filled with Rankin’s trademark blend of humor, satire, and absurdity, as well as an underlying theme of philosophical inquiry. It explores the nature of truth and the limits of human understanding, while also delivering plenty of laughs and offbeat adventures. Through a series of zany escapades and bizarre revelations, Cornelius eventually uncovers the ultimate truth and realizes the profound impact it has on the world.

Overall, “The Book of Ultimate Truths” is a rollicking and thought-provoking tale that combines elements of science fiction, fantasy, and comedy. Rankin’s wit and imaginative storytelling make for an entertaining read that will appeal to fans of offbeat fiction and philosophical humor.

The Toyminator

“The Toyminator” by Robert Rankin is a humorous science fiction novel that follows the adventures of a group of misfits as they attempt to save the world from an invasion of deadly toy robots. The story is set in a parallel universe where toy robots have taken on a life of their own and are out to wreak havoc on humanity. The protagonist, Jack, teams up with a motley crew of characters including a talking dog and a time-traveling Victorian inventor to prevent the toy robots from conquering the world.

The plot is filled with quirky and absurd scenarios, as the characters embark on a series of wild and surreal adventures in their quest to stop the toy robots. Along the way, they encounter a variety of bizarre and otherworldly creatures, and the story is interspersed with Rankin’s trademark wit and humor. The novel is a blend of science fiction, fantasy, and comedy, with a dose of social commentary thrown in for good measure.

“The Toyminator” is a fast-paced and entertaining read that will appeal to fans of Rankin’s unique style of storytelling. It is a wacky and imaginative romp that will keep readers laughing and engaged from start to finish. With its offbeat characters, inventive plot, and outlandish humor, this novel is a must-read for anyone who enjoys unconventional science fiction and comedy.

The Brentford Chainstore Massacre

“The Brentford Chainstore Massacre” by Robert Rankin is a comedic fantasy novel set in the fictional town of Brentford. The story follows the misadventures of Jim Pooley and John Omally, two friends with a penchant for getting into trouble. When a chainstore opens in Brentford, it threatens the livelihood of local businesses, leading to a series of events that culminate in a chaotic and humorous showdown.

Rankin’s novel is filled with quirky characters, absurd situations, and offbeat humor. The plot is fast-paced and full of unexpected twists, keeping readers engaged from start to finish. As the story unfolds, the town of Brentford becomes a battleground for the clash between traditional values and modernization, resulting in a hilarious and surreal tale.

“The Brentford Chainstore Massacre” is a lighthearted and entertaining read that combines elements of fantasy, satire, and comedy. Rankin’s witty writing style and imaginative world-building make for an enjoyable and unique reading experience. With its mix of zany humor and eccentric characters, the novel offers a refreshing and offbeat take on the fantasy genre.

Who is Robert Rankin

In the late 1970s, Robert Rankin set out to create a new genre of literature called Far-Fetched Fiction, with the idea that he could avoid competition and earn his own special section in bookstores. Since then, he has become known as a teller of tall tales, writing humorous science-fiction novels. Born in 1949, Rankin has proven to be a talented writer and continues to share his imaginative stories with the world.

Author Robert Rankin

Overall, Robert Rankin’s books offer a unique blend of humor, science fiction, and fantasy, making them a must-read for fans of the genre. His storytelling is both entertaining and thought-provoking, often exploring themes such as the nature of reality, the power of belief, and the impact of technology on society. Readers are sure to find themselves immersed in Rankin’s vividly imaginative worlds, while also being challenged to question their own beliefs and perceptions of the world around them. With a wide range of thought-provoking and entertaining novels, Robert Rankin has solidified his place as a prominent figure in the world of speculative fiction.

FAQs about author Robert Rankin

The content is being updated …

Update at 9:21 - 28/12/2023
Avatar photo

Relate To

Comment

Recommended